Book Review: Why Not Me


I purchased this book last Thursday and just finished it yesterday. I could not put it down! It was a very funny light read. I have enjoyed Mindy Kahling since she was Kelly on the office, as well as a writer for the show. Her delivery is very amusing and I do like that she is different, which she addresses in the book. I read her first book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? equally as fast and found that to be a very enjoyable look on her past and how she got to where she is now. The current book is more funny stories/thoughts from her life as a star, some more of her past and a look into her relationship with BJ Novak, which I found interesting. I think she is an excellent comedic writer and I am glad I continue to enjoy her work.

One of the chapters was her speech for a Harvard Law graduation and it was hilarious! You can watch the whole thing here, but here are some of the best lines.

“You will help a cable company acquire a telecom company. You will defend BP from birds. You will spend hours arguing that the well water was contaminated before the fracking occurred. One of you will sort out the details of my prenup.”

And about my home state New Hampshire- “lawless, rural New Hampshire, where, when you arrive, you are given a flask of moonshine and a box of fireworks and you are told simply to, quote, go to town – except there is no town, there is only a forest and a row of fraternity houses that smell like urine

Such a great comedic actress!

Leave a Reply

