Five Favorites – Recent Reads 

I did a lot of reading last year and did not get a chance to review all of the books. Here are some of the best ones I have read recently.

The Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty

Of these five, this is the book I could not put down. It was a really fascinating look at what happens to a wealthy family when they lose all their money. I found each character’s storyline to be full of surprises and I kept wanting to know what would happen next. I also enjoyed the back story woven throughout the plot. This is a must read!

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

This book was a gripping thriller that had me on the edge of my seat. I love books about people being reincarnated (My Name is Memory was another great one) and this one has a unique take on that topic. The plot was very enjoyable and I think most people would be intrigued by this book.

 Barbara the Slut and Other People

This was a collection of short stories mainly about women growing up. I found out that I really like reading short stories in college and now I try to read books that contain them often. Though there are lots of crazy characters in this book, there are many relatable moments for girls everywhere.

You’ll Grow Out of It

I was skeptical starting this book because I had never seen Inside Amy Schumer and I was not sure if that would be needed to enjoy it. Turns out that it is just about the author’s life and she really puts a hilarious spin on things! She had me laughing quite a bit, while also thinking about societal issues. Also this inspired me to try Pure Barre because I thought if someone who approached it so cynically and still ended up seeing results from it, then it was worth a try!

All the Light We Cannot See

I am sure everyone has seen this book as it has been a bestseller for a while now. Believe the hype and read it! It can be sad at times but it is an amazing story.

2 thoughts on “Five Favorites – Recent Reads 

Leave a Reply

